First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Katherine E. "Katie" Arrington William K. "Bill" Bowers Neal Collins MaryGail K. Douglas William M. "Bill" Hixon Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson Robert L. Ridgeway, III Edward R. Tallon Sr. John T. "Jay" West, IV

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Bruce W. Bannister Gary E. Clary Chandra E. Dillard Phyllis J. Henderson Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor Robert Q. Williams

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Kendra H. Wilkerson Fiscal/Research Analyst

April 3, 2018

Mr. John B. White, Jr. Chairman, South Carolina Transportation Infrastructure Bank 955 Park Street, Room 120 B Columbia, South Carolina 29201

RE: Follow Up from 2017 Legislative Oversight Study

Dear Mr. White:

The Legislative Oversight Committee issued its study of the South Carolina Transportation Infrastructure Bank (SCTIB) in April of last year. In accordance with one of the Committee's recommendations, I am contacting you to request an update on the working relationship between SCTIB and the Department of Transportation (DOT) in light of the changes effected by Act 275 of 2016 with regards to the approval process for providing a loan or other financial assistance to a qualified borrower on a qualified project, to include a description of how these provisions have been implemented. Please provide this information to the Committee by May 3, 2018.

The Committee appreciates the agency's continued cooperation in the oversight process. Thank you for your service to the citizens of South Carolina.

Sincerely,

Won With Mentos

Wm. Weston J. Newton Chairman, House Legislative Oversight Committee

cc: House Legislative Oversight Committee Members